Member States


Ethiopia is a landlocked country located in Africa with desert areas.

Climate Change Policies

Reduce GHG emissions by 64% (in relation to GHG emissions BAU levels (2010)) by 2030 conditional to external support in sectors of agriculture, forestry, transport, electric power, industry and buildings.

Adaptation: Priority Action:

1) Mainstream adaptation to climate change into all public and private development initiatives;

2) Increase resilience;

3) Reduce vulnerability of livelihoods and landscapes.

Priority Pillars:

1) Drought;

2) Floods;

3) other cross-cutting interventions.


Year of joining the CVF


CVF Presidency

2016 – 2018

CVF Troika

2018 – 2020 and 2020 – 2022


Addis Ababa

Website Links

UNFCCC Focal Point

Mr Sandokan Debebe Jemaneh

Ministry of Planning and Development
[email protected]
[email protected]

National Focal Points

Ms. Fortuna Dibaco

Director for United Nations Economic and Development Affairs International Organizations Directorate General
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
[email protected]

H.E. Dr. Getahun Garedew

Director General Environmental Protection Authority
[email protected]

Mr. Fekadu Beyene Aleka

Commissioner Environment,
Forest and Climate Change Commission
[email protected]

Mr. Mensur Dessie

Director Multilateral Environmental Agreements, Negotiation Coordination Directorate & National Climate Change Negotiation, Environmental Protection Authority
[email protected]

News from Ethiopia


The CVF Vision

THE CLIMATE VULNERABLE FORUM VISION Outcome document of the CVF High Level Meeting at Marrakech, Morocco (UNFCCC COP2...

Continue reading