2016 Forum

2016 CVF Forum

The CVF 2016 Forum. Photo Credit: Kairos Dela Cruz/CVF-UNDP (CC)

High Level Climate Vulnerable Forum Meeting at COP22

Marrakech, Morocco – 10:00am-12:00pm Friday 18 November 2016

The Fourth High Level Meeting of the Climate Vulnerable Forum’s took place in the second week of the Marrakech Climate Conference (COP22).



  1. To adopt a declaration expressing the updated views of the member states of the Climate Vulnerable Forum
  2. To agree a vision for the Forum expressing the future the members are intent on realising while indicating how each will work towards that vision
  3. To interact with observing countries and institutions on promoting responses and cooperation in support of climate vulnerable countries
  4. To agree a range of decisions relating to the Forum as a body in areas including resourcing, membership, presidency, secretariat and future meetings
CVF Member Countries:
Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Fiji, Ghana, Grenada, Haïti, Honduras, Madagascar, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Philippines, Rwanda, Senegal, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Viet Nam and Yemen.
Incoming Member Countries Confirmed at the Meeting
Colombia, The Gambia, Lebanon, Palestine and Samoa
Observer Countries
Burundi, China, Ecuador, France, Gabon, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Ivory Coast, Mali, Nigeria, South Africa, Togo, United Kingdom and Zimbabwe
Member Statements:
Opening Statement of H.E. Mr. Negash Kebret Botora, Ethiopia, available here.
Chair Statement of H.E. Dr. Gemedo Dalle, Ethiopia, available here.
Closing Statement of H.E. Mr. Kare Chawicha, Ethiopia, available here.
Mr. Ghulam Mohd Malikyar, Afghanistan, available here.
H.E. Mr. Edgar Gutierrez, Costa Rica, available here.
Mr. Ernesto Reyna Alcantara, Dominican Republic, available here.
Mr. Ismael Raushan, Maldives, available here.
H.E. Mr. Mattlan Zackhras, Marshall Islands, available here.
Mr. Batjargal Zamba, Mongolia, available here.
Mr. Bishwa Nath Oli, Nepal, available here.
H.E. Ms. Evelyn Cruzada, Philippines, available here.
H.E. Mr. Vincent Biruta, Rwanda, available here.
H.E. Mr. Abdoulaye Balde, Senegal, available here.
Ms. Thamila Dulani, Sri Lanka, available here.
H.E. Mr. January Y. Makamba, Tanzania, available here.


Incoming Member Statements:
Ms. Mariana Rojas Laserna, Colombia, available here.
Mr. Vahakn Kabakian, Lebanon, available here.
Mr. Nedal Katbeh Bader, Palestine, available here.
H.E. Mr. Feturi Elisaia, Samoa, available here.


Observer Statements:
Statement for Civil Society by Manuel Pulgar-Vidal, available here.
Mr. Xie Zhenhua, China, available here.
H.E. Mr. Jochen Flasbarth, Germany, available here.
Youth Message by Imane Boulberj and Abdelkrim Achache, Pupils at Al Hanane School, available here.
Find the press release here.
Read the statement of Former Vice President of the United States of America Al Gore here (external link).
Read the statement from Christian Aid, describing the CVF as “titans in the world of climate leadership” here (external link).
Read the press release of the Climate Action Network here (external link).
Selection of Twitter Responses: